NMU Link Button

High School Bowl GraphicHigh School Bowl is Public TV 13’s most popular local production. Since 1977, teams from area high schools have been going head-to-head in a battle of knowledge. Four-person teams answer questions about history, science, literature, geography, art, music, math, and many more subjects. 40 teams from across the Upper Peninsula and Northern Wisconsin compete in an annual 39-game single-elimination tournament with an 8-game “Play-in Round.” High School Bowl is produced by Bob Thomson and hosted by G.G. Gordon.

Our 2013 Champion is Superior Central, the smallest school to ever win the tournament!

Every year, Northern Michigan University awards $2,500 and $1,500 in scholarships to the first and second place teams, respectively. Additionally, one student is awarded the Dave Goldsmith Scholarship.

Games from our 36th season began airing November 2.

Watch Saturdays at 8 pm ET, and Mondays at Noon ET on Channel 13.1.

Watch 2013-14 season games online at wnmuvideo.nmu.edu. *

Check out High School Bowl on Facebook

*Games 7 & 8 were not recorded and will not be broadcast on November 23 as originally scheduled. On the day those games were scheduled, we had technical difficulties that prevented us from recording. Three out of the four teams had traveled long-distance and decided that they would go ahead and play that day, rather than making the trip to our studios twice. The results were - Game 7: Gwinn 280, Chassell 60. Game 8: Engadine 190, Watersmeet 180. In the next round of the tournament, Gwinn will meet Kingsford, and Engadine will play against Superior Central.

Printable 2013-14 High School Bowl Tournament Ladder*
Includes teams and airdates for each game. [94k PDF file download-- requires Adobe Reader]

High School Bowl Online Tournament Bracket 2013-14

High School Bowl Air Dates and Game Photos 2013-14
Game photos are generally available for download about one week after the game airs.

Game Photos from the 2012-13 Season

Purchase High School Bowl DVDs:
Programs from the current season are available on DVD for $19.95, which includes shipping. Call 800-227-9668, or 227-1300 during regular business hours (8 am-5 pm ET weekdays) and order by phone with your credit card. Please let us know the school name and broadcast date of the program you want to purchase when you call. Or download our video order form. (Programs prior to 2008-09 season are not available.)


Congratulations Superior Central -- 2013 High School Bowl Champs!

Negaunee and Iron Mountain High School Bowl Teams

2013 HSB Champs Superior Central and 2nd Place Houghton

Superior Central Wins 2012-13 High School Bowl Championship

MARQUETTE, April 13, 2013‚ The Superior Central Cougars played the Houghton Gremlins in the 2013 High School Bowl Championship and won by a score of 280-240. Forty schools from the Upper Peninsula field teams for Public TV 13's High School Bowl tournament, now celebrating 35 years on the air.

Northern Michigan University awarded scholarships to the first and second-place winners, with Superior Central receiving $2500 and Houghton $1500 in scholarship funds to be distributed by the schools.

Superior Central's road to the championship began with a win over Norway (410-90) in the play-in round; and in the first round they defeated Crystal Falls (300-80). The Cougars advanced through the next three rounds with wins over West Iron County (280-150), Hancock (390-160), and Escanaba (250-190) to earn a coveted spot in the championship game.

Houghton began the 2012-2013 High School Bowl season by defeating North Central (240-60) in the first round, and Kingsford (330-130) in the second round. They clinched their spot in the championship with wins over Iron Mountain (280-240) and Bessemer (360-120) in the semi-finals.

The Superior Central Cougars made their first appearance in the final game of the High School Bowl Tournament this year. They are the smallest school to ever win the tournament. This was tenth time the Houghton Gremlins have made it to the finals. They were in the finals most recently in 2008 when they won the High School Bowl Championship, defeating Negaunee.

Representing Superior Central, seated from left, are players Mark Heinonen, Amy Burley, team captain Josh Elsenbroek, and Mitch Anderson. Standing are alternates Monica Bergren, Cassie Crooks-Luepke, Jessica Johnson, and Katy Monty with Coach Shannon Hancock. Players for Houghton are, seated from left, Nikhill Rao, team captain Maria Sliva, Ian Hyslop, and Brianne Hiltunen. Standing are High School Bowl host G.G. Gordon, judge Dwight Johnson, Houghton alternate Thomas Page, Houghton Coach Bill Martell, and timekeeper Katlin Connin.

Iron Mountain Student Wins Goldsmith Scholarship

Henry Hakamaki on the High School Bowl setMARQUETTE, April 13, 2013 Iron Mountain High School student Henry Hakamaki has been named as this year's recipient of Public TV 13's Dave Goldsmith Scholarship. Henry, a senior, appeared on High School Bowl for four seasons and captained the "Mountaineers" to the quarterfinals of this year's tournament. Henry will receive $1000 to use towards his college education.

Watch an interview with Henry on the High School Bowl Season 35 Review program

This year marks the 10th presentation of the Dave Goldsmith Scholarship, established by the family of the late High School Bowl host after his death in 2002. Dave was the host of WNMU-TV's popular local program for 24 years. The Dave Goldsmith Scholarship is awarded annually at the conclusion of the High School Bowl season to an outstanding senior contestant who is planning to attend college in the fall.

The Goldsmith Scholarship is presented in addition to the $2,500 High School Bowl scholarship awarded to the school of the tournament winners, and $1,500 scholarship awarded to the second place school. This year's recipients were 2013 champions the Superior Central "Cougars", coached by Shannon Hancock, and runners up the Houghton "Gremlins", coached by Bill Martell. These scholarships are awarded to the schools by Northern Michigan University, to be used for any student's attendance at NMU.

back to top

High School Bowl
Season 36 is underwritten by
The Sam & Elinor Benedict Fund
The Ray & Peg Hirvonen Foundation

production funding is also provided by
20 Upper Peninsula Credit Unions:
TruNorth Federal Credit Union, U.P. State Credit Union, Tahquamenon Area Credit Union, Marquette Community Federal Credit Union, SIR Federal Credit Union, Michigan Tech Employees Federal Credit Union, Limestone Federal Credit Union, Soo Co-op Credit Union, Settlers Federal Credit Union, Peninsula Federal Credit Union, U.P. Catholic Credit Union, Northern United Federal Credit Union, Great Lakes First Federal Credit Union, Baraga County Credit Union, Iron Mountain-Kingsford Community Federal Credit Union, Delta County Credit Union, Menominee County Federal Credit Union, Munising Community Credit Union, Norway Community Credit Union, and Torch Lake Federal Credit Union

and by Johnson Controls
and by Escanaba Paper Company, a subsidiary of NewPage Corporation

in partnership with
The Regional Educational Service Agencies & Intermediate School Districts of the Upper Peninsula
Shop the Spring Sale - Up to 90% Off @ ShopPBS.org!