WNMU Public TV 13, a public service of Northern Michigan University
High School Bowl promo image
High School Bowl airs weekly, Saturdays at 8 pm ET, and Mondays at 3 pm ET.

High School Bowl is Public TV 13’s most popular local production. Since 1977, teams from area high schools have been going head-to-head in a battle of knowledge. Four-person teams answer questions about history, science, literature, geography, art, music, math, and many more subjects. 40 teams from across the Upper Peninsula and Northern Wisconsin compete in an annual 39-game single-elimination tournament with an 8-game “Play-in Round.”

High School Bowl is produced by Mike Lakenen and the host is Jim Koski.

Every year, Northern Michigan University awards $2,500 and $1,500 in scholarships to the first and second place teams, respectively. Additionally, one outstanding senior is awarded the Dave Goldsmith Scholarship.

The 2018-19 season Champion was Houghton.

Season 42 Schedule

Printable 2019-20 High School Bowl Tournament Ladder
Includes teams and airdates for each game.

Download a 2019-20 High School Bowl Tournament Poster

High School Bowl Online Tournament Bracket 2019-20, Season 42

High School Bowl Game Photos
Game photos are generally available for download about one week after the game airs, beginning in November.

Purchase High School Bowl Copies

Copies of programs from recent seasons are available for $19.95. Call 800-227-9668, or 227-1300 during regular business hours (8 am-5 pm ET weekdays) and order by phone with your credit card. Please let us know the school name and broadcast date of the program you want to purchase when you call. Or download our video order form. (Programs prior to 2008-09 season are not available.)

High School Bowl Season 42 Underwriters

The Ray & Peg Hirvonen Foundation
and Janice Mills of Escanaba
and The Donald & Audrey Anderson Foundation

production funding is also provided by 18 Upper Peninsula Credit Unions:
TruNorth Federal Credit Union, Marquette Community Federal Credit Union, U.P. State Credit Union, Tahquamenon Area Credit Union, Soo Co-op Credit Union, Peninsula Federal Credit Union, Gogebic County Federal Credit Union, Northern United Federal Credit Union, Torch Lake Federal Credit Union, Michigan Tech Employees Federal Credit Union, Delta County Credit Union, Great Lakes First Federal Credit Union, Baraga Community Federal Credit Union, Iron Mountain/Kingsford Community Federal Credit Union, Embers Credit Union, Settlers Federal Credit Union, Chippewa County Credit Union and Integra First Federal Credit Union

and by Petrucelli and Waara, Attorneys at Law
and by Johnson Controls
in partnership with The Regional Educational Service Agencies & Intermediate School Districts of the Upper Peninsula

Game 3939 photo, Houghton vs Ironwood

North Central Defeats Bark River-Harris

The North Central “Jets” played the Bark River-Harris “Broncos” in the first round of High School Bowl and won by a score of 240-60. North Central will advance to the second round when they play Manistique in Game 16, scheduled to air on January 4.

Representing North Central, seated from left, are players Carter Strahl, Dakota Schwark, team captain Zach Strahl and Gabrielle Lucas. Standing is Coach Matt Stein along with alternates Dawson Brand and Gerald Hardwick. Players for Bark River-Harris are, seated from left, Lauren Kwarciany, team captain Luke Rivard, Sarah Kwarciany and Whitney Massie. Standing is Cole Shepard, Blake Richie and Coach Jim Bilski. High School Bowl host Jim Koski is standing at lower left.

Harkin Massopust, 2017 Goldsmith Scholarship Winner

Hancock Defeats Chassell

The Hancock “Bulldogs” played the Chassell “Panthers” in the first round of High School Bowl and won by a score of 220-90. Hancock will advance to the second round when they play Calumet in Game 13, scheduled to air on December 21.

Representing Hancock, seated from left, are players John Holladay, Camden Kyro, team captain Ben Galetto and Gabe Smith. Standing is alternate Tanner Walrath and coach Leanne Laakonen. Players for Chassell are, seated from left, Emma Goddard, team captain Shannon Rantamaki, Finn Kyro and Amelia Laux. Standing is coach Senia Kuntze. High School Bowl host Jim Koski is standing at lower left.

Republic-Michigamme Defeats Iron Mountain

The Republic-Michigamme “Hawks” played the Iron Mountain “Mountaineers” in the first round of High School Bowl and won by a score of 140-100. Republic-Michigamme will advance to the second round when they play Marquette in Game 12, scheduled to air on December 14.

Representing Republic-Michigamme, seated from left, are players Samuel Dyer, Anna Laakso, team captain Judah Oakley and Shaylee Gransinger. Standing are alternate Heron Dyer, coach Mary Koski, and alternate Robin Lequis. Players for Iron Mountain are, seated from left, Megan Garvaglia, team captain Logan Bush, Lucas Maxon and Mason Mundy. Standing is coach Kristin Stanchina. High School Bowl host Jim Koski is standing at lower left.

Superior Central Defeats Big Bay de Noc

The Big Bay De Noc “Black Bears” played the Superior Central “Cougars” in the first round of High School Bowl and were defeated by a score of 210-30. Superior Central will go on to play Escanaba in Game 9, scheduled to air on November 30.

Representing Big Bay De Noc, seated from left, are players Caleb Jasmin, team captain Abigail Matheny, Aiden Schade and Jonathan Foskett. Standing are alternates Piper Jones and Kaitlyn Massengill with Coach Jaime Ziemba. Players for Superior Central are, seated from left, Olivia Millin, Kyle Frusti, team captain Betty Jo Swajanen and Maezie Nettleton. Standing is Coach Shannon Hancock. High School Bowl host Jim Koski is standing at lower left.